Power of the Pen Teams Earn First Place

Power of the Pen

Congratulations to our Power of the Pen team for their successful showing at Saturday’s tournament. 

Both the seventh and eighth grade teams won first place in their grade level out of sixteen schools and more than 150 student writers participating.

Seventh grade team members attending were Rachel Atkins, Jackie Harris, Joey Koval, Olivia Lemon, Maura Lyden, Grace McMann, and Abbie South.

Eighth grade team members attending were Layna Adams, Sara Deerwester, Chelsea Marks, Carsyn Owens, Psalm Padilla, Sami Riley, Melbanie Scott, and Maisy Smiddy.

Many students won individual awards as well.  In the seventh grade, Olivia Lemon placed 8th and Abbie South placed 9th. Impressively, both Rachel Atkins and Maura Lyden had perfect rank scores; Rachel placed 3rd individually, and Maura placed FIRST overall in her grade level.

In the eighth grade, Melbanie Scott placed 11th and Sara Deerwester placed 12th. Congratulations to Sami Riley, who earned the THIRD place individual trophy out of more than eighty writers in her grade level.

Additionally, Chelsea Marks, Psalm Padilla, and Sami Riley all received recognition for their writing in the opening orientation.

Coaches Mrs. Janssen and Mrs. Leis are incredibly proud of these talented young writers.

Back to School News      Print News Article